A year off

Has it really been a year since I last wrote about my gaming exploits? Time doesn’t half fly!

The truth of it is that I have been more concerned with Matched Betting and Betfair Trading than true gaming. I do consider them to be my new “rpg” though, lots of stats and flashing numbers.

I have spent a reasonable amount of time improving my arcade cabinet after buying a New Net City. You can see what I got up to on my youtube channel.

I did have a bit of an epiphany as well.

The thing is, I am an older brother and that makes me inherently a) correct – always, b) in charge – always and c) correct – always.

So when I played GTA Vice City and thought it was a bit pants, then obviously I was right, and obviously that applied to every other GTA even though I hadn’t actually played them.

My daughter asked me if she could play GTAV so I thought I’d check it out, I happened to have a PS3 version which I got in a game bundle with said machine. (She has the PS4 version because she stole my PS4 off me.)

It is truly awesome. There, I admitted I was wrong. The city is incredible, certainly the best environment I have seen in a game, except, maybe, for Xenoblade X. The amount of detail and sheer scale of it is astonishing and, unlike say, The Division, it doesn’t get boring or seem to repeat itself too much.

Before GTAV I completed Red Dead Redemption. I never did get to grips with it, I found it boring, repetitive and the ending just stupid. Other people love it but it just didn’t click with me. I got sick of seeing brown, that’s for sure. Sticking in a Nintendo game in-between Red Dead stints and seeing some colour was a breath of fresh air.

Anyway, just thought I’d check in. I’m currently putting a bit of time into the Witcher 3 at the same time as GTA 5. I’m still at the beginning but I’ll report back.

Avaguddun!

Leave a Reply

